A little more about the “Code”

Well this week I’ve been busy with catching up on and finishing the last of my assignments for this semester.  I’ll be glad to be done with writing essays for a while once this semester draws to an end.  It’s not that I don’t “like” essays, but I’m rather tired of doing so many of them. I’d like to sit back and read a book of my choice and partake in some activities that I choose, rather than focusing on school all the time. 

I’ve also been playing around with coding more. I’ve completed the 20 hours of code from code.org and found it very interesting (I’m kind of a bit of a computer geek sometimes, once I get hooked). I just seem to find it all so interesting and I want to learn more about it. I’ve decided to look a little deeper into the topic and have decided to continue with my learning on writing code with javascript using the site Codeacademy. There is also a free app from iTunes. I remember touching on this a little bit when I attended the University of Saskatchewan in 2001-2002 when I was enrolled in Commerce. Of course this was quite a while ago and computers have advanced quite a bit since then, but I’m finding that some of the information is coming back to me again. (Isn’t it funny how you forget that you know something when you don’t use that information?) It’s serving as a great refresher and I’m hoping to get a website set up sometime in the future for classroom use. 

codeacademy

Though I’m still unsure of all the possibilities of learning code in school, I’m finding it very informative for myself.  I would hope that some students would find it interesting as well and maybe strive for a career based in computer science.  After all, it’s a profession that isn’t going to be abolished any time soon. 

I’m wondering if any one has opinions on javascript or any of the other languages used to write code? Does anybody know if one is better to learn and for what reason?

Leave a Reply

