Padlet Power

As part of this week’s tech task we were asked to explore some of the resources that were give to us by Adam Bellow and Steve Dembo during our ECMP355 class. Right off the bat, we were introduced to an amazing site called Padlet. This site is essential a bulletin board. You make different “bulletin boards” where you can store all sorts of different information. It’s possible to link websites, videos, pictures, or documents and each “bulletin board” can be customized by using different backgrounds and choosing the method to sort your posts. Padlet has so many different uses for the classroom. I chose to make a board that has all sorts of different brain breaks available to me at a moments notice because we all know that when students need a brain break, they need it now! I figured that if they were all ready and waiting for me to grab, I’d be more likely to use them. I love how it’s easy to add, delete, and rearrange the board as well. Here is a screenshot of my first board:

Padlet

This will be a work in progress that I can add to anytime I find a good resource. I can see the value in having a central location for all your information when developing lesson plans and units as well.

During our class it was also mentioned that this resource could be used as a sorting activity for kids as it’s easy to drag and drop photos to different areas of the screen and “in a sense” sort them out.

A great big thanks goes out to Steve and Adam. This is a great resource that I will certainly be putting to use.

Does anyone else have any ideas how this resource could be used in the classroom?

8 comments

  1. Padlet was one of the sites that stood out to me during the ECMP session. Seems really fun to use and there are so many different ways to use it. I really like what you have done with the Brain Break Padlet – Are other teachers able to add to this? I think it would be great to share the resource you have created with the staff in the school that you are working in and have a space with a ton of Brain Breaks.
    Thanks for sharing your experiences with Padlet with us! Seems like a great resource!
    Linds

    1. Hi Linds,
      I haven’t played too much with the privacy settings yet but I know you can make this available to others. You just have to go to the privacy settings and determine which option suits you best. It’s possible to add people by email, to the public, or keep it private. This provides a great way to collaborate with other teachers on lesson planning and assessing. It’s a definite “Must check this out” site

  2. I really like the idea of using Padlet for brain breaks. I hadn’t thought of that! Lindsay’s idea of having other teachers add to it as well is a great idea! It would be easy and handy to have all of the brain breaks ready for when your class really needs them! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

