Mashup Assignment

Oh what technology can do… This week our tech task for ecmp355 was to complete two assignments from the DS106 site. I have previously posted my first assignment which was Draw it! Today, will be a look into the mashup assignment called The @IamTalkyTina Headswap. Take a look at the assignment:

Assignment Value: 1 Star - Easy Peasy2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars - Really Frickin Hard

small
Take Tina’s head and place it on another person or animal or fictional character or something. The original idea was to swap a babies head (now I ain’t saying Tina is a baby) and a dolls head. So like you could find an image of a baby and a doll and put the dolls head on the baby and the babies head on the doll. Just search “Talky Tina” on the web and stick her head on something else.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________

This assignment tweeked my interest, as I have never before done something like this.  As with my previous assignment I used the program GIMP. I searched out some help topics and got at it. These are the two photos I started with:babyPhoto Credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/25859982@N07/12151894244/”>Matthieu Luna</a> via <a href=”http://compfight.com”>Compfight</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Talky TinaThe two pictures seemed to go well together in my mind, so I mashed them up and this was the final result:
mashupNow isn’t that cute?
This was a fun assignment to do and it didn’t take a whole lot of time; therefore, I think that this would be something that could be taught to possibly grade 5 or 6 students. These types of files could be used to intrigue students or to use as a picture prompt story starters.
Leave a Reply

