Would you pay?

During this past week I’ve been busily searching out some great people to follow using Twitter, blogs, Facebook, and Pinterest. I have noticed that there are many educators in this big ‘ole world who currently have a store on Teachers Pay Teachers. Now if you don’t know what Teachers Pay Teachers is, it’s a kind of networking/store site where teachers create their own accounts(stores) and create additional educational resources to sell as downloads on this site.

Teachers Pay Teachers

There seems to be quite a bit of controversy over whether this should be allowed or not, and I would like your input. Should teachers be allowed to sell educational resources to other teachers? Remember… quite often teachers have to pay for these types of things out of their own pocket. Is it worth it?

9 comments

  1. Personally, I love Teachers Pay Teachers. It saved me many times during internship when I was strapped for an idea or resource. That being said, it can add up over time. I often check out the free resources first and there are definitely some good finds in there. Also, sometimes I can be inspired by the neat ideas I see in the previews and base a lesson off of those. I don’t use it too regularly but on some late nights when I REALLY needed an idea, I found this resource came in handy and many of the resources I got from there were no more than $2 which can be downloaded and used over and over again. In my opinion, there is little difference between this and buying a book for resources/lesson plans and using one activity out of it.

  2. I agree with you on this one. I think that there is no reason why teachers can’t sell their ideas to other teachers. Just like you said, it ‘s no different than buying a book. I was simply interested in the responses of educators to be.

  3. In one of my first education classes they said “you do not need to invent the wheel, someone already has” I believe that this is very applicable to teaching because if someone was creative enough to come up with a successful recourse why not share it with everyone!? I used Teachers Pay Teachers often in my internship just like Lindsay said even to inspire an idea from something else that I saw. As a first real experience teaching I think that offering the best education possible is our job and if that means sharing recourses then we are crazy not to right?

  4. I agree with you 100%. Why hold back and prevent our students from learning from an awesome resource? I was curious to know how many teacher students used this resource during internship and so far it looks like it was popular.

  5. I totally agree Lindsay that teachers pay teachers can be a great resource even if you do not purchase items, it can give you good ideas. I have definitely spent a fair amount of time sifting through the freebies to find good activities and lessons that I could possibly use one day. I also think that it is better to use Teachers pay teachers because you know exactly where your money is going and I like the fact that I am able to support other teachers, and for a very reasonable price. I love this website and will certainly use it when I am struggling to come up with a lesson idea.

  6. I agree too. Teachers work very hard at their work. If we can share with each other to better ourselves, then I say do it! Also, paying for someone else’s good work is a great way to give credit where it is due! Many times we take ideas and don’t give the credit to the original inspirational source 🙂

  7. I definitely agree with all the comments thus far! I love teacherspayteachers! There are hundreds of fantastic resources, and why shouldn’t teachers be able to sell their hard work? I think it is better to pay another teacher than the corporations or businesses, plus they know what works and what doesn’t, they are actually in the classroom! Many of the people on TPT have blogs, and share images of their students doing the activity and reflections on how it went, as well as freebies! They have great ideas and things to share, and it has given me lots of good ideas and quick and easy lessons to use when in a bind!

Leave a Reply

